Cotadutide dosage in published studies and labels

These are the doses used for Cotadutide in FDA labelling and published clinical studies, reported as each source states them, one row per regimen. They describe what was studied or approved for a specific population. They are not a recommendation, and none of them is a dose for any individual.

Research and educational reference only. This is not medical advice, and no figure on this page is a dosing recommendation.

Last checked against primary sources:

Studied regimens and sources

Cotadutide has no approved dosage. Human dosing comes from AstraZeneca's phase 2 trials, which gave injections under the skin of 50–600 mcg, once daily where the abstracts state the schedule: 100, 200 or 300 mcg for 54 weeks in adults with type 2 diabetes and overweight or obesity, and up to 600 mcg in trials in kidney disease and liver disease. AstraZeneca stopped developing cotadutide for strategic pipeline reasons, so none of these doses went on to phase 3.

Clinical Trial Evidence
Dosage evidence summary for Cotadutide
Human dosing establishedYes
Studied dose range50–600 mcg once daily in phase 2 trials
RouteSubcutaneous
FrequencyOnce daily
Duration studied32 days to 54 weeks in the published phase 2 trials
TitrationThe diabetic kidney disease trial raised the dose step by step to 100, 300 or 600 mcg; the step schedule is not given in the indexed abstract.
Evidence levelClinical Trial Evidence
Last reviewed2026-11-07

Research-reported dosing

Doses as studied, one row per regimen. Different trials used different regimens; they are listed separately rather than averaged.

Research-reported dosing for Cotadutide, one row per studied regimen
Study / contextPopulationDoseRouteFrequencyDurationOutcome studiedSource
Phase 2b, type 2 diabetes with overweight or obesity (NCT03235050)Clinical trial · Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 2b trial with open-label liraglutideAdults with BMI ≥25 and type 2 diabetes on metformin (n=834)100, 200 or 300 mcg (compared with placebo and liraglutide 1.8 mg)SubcutaneousNot stated in the indexed abstract54 weeks (co-primary endpoints at week 14)HbA1c and body weight fell more than with placebo at weeks 14 and 54; weight loss with 300 mcg was greater than with liraglutide 1.8 mgEffects of Cotadutide on Metabolic and Hepatic Parameters in Adults With Overweight or Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes: A 54-Week Randomized Phase 2b Study. Diabetes Care. 2021.
Phase 2a, type 2 diabetes with chronic kidney disease (NCT03550378)Clinical trial · Randomized, placebo-controlled phase 2a trialAdults with type 2 diabetes, BMI 25–45 and eGFR 30–59 (41 analysed)50–300 mcgSubcutaneousOnce daily32 daysLower glucose after a mixed meal and -3.41 kg body weight against -0.13 kg with placeboEfficacy and safety of cotadutide, a dual glucagon-like peptide-1 and glucagon receptor agonist, in a randomized phase 2a study of patients with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2022.
Phase 2b, diabetic kidney disease (NCT04515849)Clinical trial · Randomized phase 2b trial, double-blind for cotadutide and placeboAdults with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease (n=248)Raised to 100, 300 or 600 mcg (compared with placebo and semaglutide 1 mg weekly)SubcutaneousOnce daily26 weeksUrine albumin-to-creatinine ratio fell versus placebo at week 14, significantly at 300 mcg (-43.9%) and 600 mcg (-49.9%)A randomized phase 2b trial examined the effects of the glucagon-like peptide-1 and glucagon receptor agonist cotadutide on kidney outcomes in patients with diabetic kidney disease. Kidney Int. 2024.
PROXYMO — phase 2, MASH with fibrosis (NCT04019561)Clinical trial · Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trialAdults with biopsy-proven noncirrhotic MASH with fibrosis (n=74)300 or 600 mcgSubcutaneousNot stated in the indexed abstract19 weeksLiver fat, ALT and AST improved significantly with 600 mcg; treatment-related discontinuation 16.7% with 600 mcg, 7.7% with 300 mcg and 4.2% with placeboSafety and Efficacy of Novel Incretin Co-agonist Cotadutide in Biopsy-proven Noncirrhotic MASH With Fibrosis. Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2024.
Phase 1, hepatic impairment — stopped early (NCT05517226)Clinical trial · Phase 1 pharmacokinetic study, terminatedParticipants with hepatic impairment (n=24)A single protocol dose ("Dose A")SubcutaneousPer trial protocolPer trial protocolTerminated. The registry gives the reason as discontinuing the development of cotadutide based on strategic pipeline considerations, not a new safety signalNCT05517226 — Pharmacokinetics of Cotadutide in Participants With Hepatic Impairment

Where sources disagree

  • Cotadutide's development was discontinued. ClinicalTrials.gov records for its last studies say the decision was based on strategic pipeline considerations and not on new safety findings. No phase 3 trial was run, so no dose was carried forward.
  • The trials used daily injections in micrograms. These doses are not interchangeable with weekly GLP-1 drugs dosed in milligrams, such as semaglutide or survodutide.
  • Cotadutide is described as an oxyntomodulin-related dual GLP-1 and glucagon agonist, but it is a different molecule from native oxyntomodulin; the native hormone's infusion studies are not evidence for cotadutide doses, and the reverse.